Getting the party started

24 Jan

Today, for the first time since September 2009, I took out my writing notebook and resumed my novel.

I had no idea that it had been that long – I thought maybe 10, 11 months. I actually had to rummage through a pile of my studying and writing supplies to find my notebook last night, and I wasn’t even sure which notebook it was. Eventually I established that it was the pink one with a green blobby alien on. I put it on the side in the kitchen along with my other essentials for a day at work – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and a Pot Noodle.

It came out at lunchtime today, whilst myself and my best friend were sat at our tiny, slightly grubby plastic table in the  staff room/kitchen eating lunch, and as I flicked through my notebook I discovered a slight miscalculation on my part – I had only actually written two pages of my novel in this particular book, and I only mentioned two character names. There are actually quite a lot of characters in this stage of the book, but I could only remember one other character name. I’ll have to take in my previous notebook tomorrow and learn who I’m writing about. Not knowing the characters, the plot or the setting did not stop me, however! I managed to write 400 words, although I must confess I have no idea if they fit with the rest of the story.

Some background…but before that, a picture of a pretty dog:

WordPress says I have four seconds to grab the attention of passing websurfers, and that pictures help. So, this is my dog, Willow.

Anyway, back to writing:

I’m currently working on a science fiction novel with a working title of The Unknown (yes, I know it’s a pants title. I’m working on it), which is an expansion of a short story I wrote for my Open University Creative Writing module. I did quite well with it. It’s in the first person present tense, which I know a lot of people hate, but there will hopefully be a lot of tense action and both these styles add immediacy to the action. I know where I want this story to go, but I’m constantly changing my mind about how to get there. I’m determined to complete my first draft before I start rearranging the plot though.

Leave a Reply

