What I’m Reading 2.0

6 Nov

The last couple of weeks have been filled with my theatre group’s performances and then recovering from said performances – I have a couple of things I really want to post about, but I’m not up to it yet, so here we go with two ‘Reading’y posts in a row!

Soo, in my last post I was reading two books, which have now been completed. I’ll keep a list of completedy books! (today my ‘things’ are adding ‘y’ on the ends of words, putting things in inverted commas, and exclamation marks!)

Completed books

Edge of Victory II: Rebirth
Tortall and Other Lands

Since the last post I have read the following. y.”! Brace yourselves, I’ve been doing a lot of reading *g*
Ze obligatory Star Wars book:

  Star by Star by Troy Denning continues The New Jedi Order saga, with a heartwrenching sequence of events that sees the death of one of the Solo children, and the capture of another. Seriously can never handle how sad I find the end of this book, so I just end up curled up in a puddle of goo by the end of it. Naturally I read this at work (during my lunchbreak, obviously!), and was doing my best to hide that I was crying at a book.

I cry at half the books in the world. I am a serial cryer. Looking for a town cryer? Look no further! I’ll cry for your whole country!

Ahem. Anyway, so, that’s that.

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow. It’s so hard to find a book where the writer lives in ‘my world’ – LARPing, internet forums, online games – utter geekery in an amazing book that discusses civil liberties and freedom in an amazing story.

17 year old hacker/gamer Marcus and his friends have skived off school to play a game when they find themselves in the wrong place at the wrong time. Terrorists strike in San Francisco and Marcus and his friends are taken in for questioning. Several days later, after mistreatment and humiliation, three of them are released – but Marcus’ best friend, who was severely injured, isn’t with them. In their absence, the city has become a police state – cameras everywhere, police all over the place, and the Department of Homeland Security, who took the teenagers captive, is ruling the roost. Marcus vows to take down the DHS, and the bulk of the novel covers his story.

I honestly can’t recommend this book enough. If you like the freedom to make your own choices, read this book.

 Lies by Michael Grant is the third book in the Gone series. This young adult fiction series follows a dystopian world that’s formed when everybody over 15 in the Californian town of Perdido Beach disappears and the town is cut off.

I have to admit that I was kind of drawn to these books by their appearance. They are vividly different to anything else in the bookshops at the moment – in addition to the black background and the vivid lettering, the actual edges of the pages are the same colour as the lettering. Gone is bright yellow, Hunger is orange, Lies is blue and I think Plague is red. Plague is only out in hardback at the moment which means I can’t really afford it.

I don’t want to talk about these too much as I don’t want to give away spoilers. I think you should just read these. They’re pretty damn spectacular.

They’re also a bit scary and gruesome – somebody describes it as Steven King meets Lord of the Flies which is a really accurate description.

Want To Play? by P.J. Tracy was released in the US as Monkeewrench. In a rare modern occasion of the UK getting the best of something, we actually got more pages and some extra bits, which is pretty cool.

I LOVE these. Crime thrillers can naturally be really heavy going, but the Monkeewrench novels are spectacular in that they’re not. The characters are compelling, there’s humour by the bucketload, there are friendships that you just want to see more of, there’s a dog called Charlie, and there’s serial killers who can freeze your blood. Like crime? Like thrillers? Like good characters and brilliant writing? Read these.

P.J. Tracy is a mashup of mother/daughter writing team Patricia and Traci Lambrecht. Want To Play? is the first of the Monkeewrench novels, the others being Live Bait, Dead Run, Snow Blind and Play to Kill (Shoot to Thrill in the US).

I think this is my longest post so far! Last one I think:

Heist Society by Ally Carter. This is a new find for me, and one that I’m quite enjoying. It was on Buy One Get One for £1 in Waterstones, along with Lies, so I got all excited. Katarina Bishop is a thief born and raised, who tried to escape from a life of crime by conning her way into in an exclusive private boarding school. This falls apart when her father is framed for stealing some paintings from a Really Bad Guy, and she and her friends have to get it back. So far I’m liking this book a lot – it’s exciting, the characters are good and the writer has a sense of humour. I’m heading towards the climax now, so am quite excited to carry on and finish this book either today or tomorrow.

So, finished books so far since 16th October!

Edge of Victory II: Rebirth
Tortall and Other Lands
Star by Star
Little Brother
Lies
Want to Play?

That’s actually pretty rubbish, six books in 21 days. I’ll have to up my game.

3 Responses to “What I’m Reading 2.0”

  1. phoenixaeon November 11, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Ooh, Little Brother. I read that a couple of years ago and loved it. I love how Doctorow uses reality, both everyday and virtual, as his template, making it entirely plausible that something like that could happen. I really have to find the time to read more of his books.

    • Tapdancing Lexicon November 13, 2011 at 12:21 am #

      I know what you mean. I’ve put For The Win on my Amazon wishlist, but haven’t actually even picked up any of the books and read the blurb. Must pick one up on my next book shopping trip.

      I can’t work out who you are! I obviously know you from A215, but beyond that…lol

      • phoenixaeon December 1, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

        Koogie Faz on FB 😀

Leave a Reply

