A New Beginning

12 Mar
Avast, me hearties! I be a scourge to bloggers everywhere! - Speaking pirate dog

My dog Floyd does not usually look like a pirate, but this one made us laugh so we kept it. Picture (minus caption) by Venture Photography

Hello, gentle readers.

A long time ago, in a galaxy…pretty damn close, a lady with barely visible eyebrows started a blog, wrote on it for a few months, then let it dwindle into obscurity because apparently people with dogs don’t have time to blog.

Since my last post, nearly three years ago now, I have been made redundant, been unemployed for two months, found a job, had said job for 14 months, got made redundant again, and have now been unemployed for going on 4 months.

My first redundancy gave me plenty of time to work on my novel, but somehow this one has not. My current word count is 38187, so it’s slooowly coming along.

What’s really prompting me to start blogging again now is that I’m enrolled in the Prince’s Trust Enterprise scheme, which aims to help people aged 18-30 set up their own businesses. I have attended an introduction meeting and a four day course, and am on my way to setting up my own copywriting business in a few months – the timing depends on whether or not I get a job in the meantime.

I plan to blog about where I’m up to with my business plans, and I will also set up a professional blog and portfolio when the time comes. I’m a little on the nervous side! What’s weird is the last time I posted on my blog I knew absolutely nothing about marketing, and now here I am trying to make a living with it. (I just wrote ‘loving’ and then giggled to myself)

I also plan to open up the focus of this blog to include general geeky things like video games, table top games, and TV shows that I’m enjoying, so I have more to write about – I’m also going to include goings on with my theatre group as the Chameleons is a big part of my life these days.

I’m going to start keeping track of what I’m reading again, but I’m only going to write one review per post and just list the rest, as it was the dauntingness (shutup, it’s totally a word WordPress YOU’RE NOT THE BOSS OF ME) of keeping up with myself that probably stopped me blogging in the first place. Floyd’s not really to blame.

So, to kick things off, I am currently reading:

A Dance With Dragons: Part I by George R. R. Martin

Snuff by Terry Pratchett

For The Win by Cory Doctorow

Once I finish one I may even review it!

So, what’s going on with you guys? Any books to recommend that I read next? Any sage wisdom on running your own business or finding a job?

Leave a Reply

