Ticking along

19 Mar

I have a job interview tomorrow – this will be my ninth or tenth since I was made redundant back in November. I interview well, so my odds should be pretty good, right?

Only I’ve interviewed well every single time, and still nothing. If I don’t get this one, next week I’ll start searching for a stopgap job to tide me over until I either get a job in marketing or am ready to launch my own business. Back to retail, yay!

In the meantime, I continue to tick along, searching for work and working on  my novel (although I haven’t written anything since I started blogging again). I’m finding more time to read since I started writing about reading. This is good, as I’ve definitely gotten slack in my levels of reading actual books, instead getting through vast amounts of fanfiction (usually Castle and The Mentalist). I’m going to start working my way through the classics I haven’t read, with help from my local library.

So, to round out this post about nothing, here’s my book progress:

Currently reading

For the Win by Cory Doctorow
On translation from Chinese to English: The intonation. He was always getting it wrong. He’d say, “I’ll go aggro those demons and you buff the cleric,” and it would come out, “I am a bowl of noodles, I have beautiful eyelashes.” But he was getting better.’

A Dance with Dragons I: Dreams and Dust by George R R Martin

Terrier by Tamora Pierce

Completed since 12/3/2014

Snuff by Terry Pratchett

2 Responses to “Ticking along”

  1. Dayna March 22, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

    There is nothing more disheartening than interviewing endlessly when you’ve been unceremoniously tossed out the back door. I had to go back to waitressing for a while. It was a crushing experience. I heard daily “If you have a degree, why are you here?” Good question, I thought.

    • Tapdancing Lexicon March 26, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

      I think it’s better than not getting interviewed at all, but I lost count of how many interviews I’d had about four ago. It does get you down after a bit. Still waiting to hear back about the one I had on Thursday.

      (sorry for the delay in approving the comment, hectic few days :-))

Leave a Reply

