Bitten by the Writing Bug

24 Apr
Greyfriars Bobby by Kirsty Hall on Flickr

My new short story revolves around a grave. Not actually Greyfriars Bobby’s grave though. My dead person is human.

For the last few weeks I’ve been struggling to get myself to even try to go to sleep. I’ve had a pretty set routine since I lost my job back in November, and on week nights I go to bed at 10 and turn the lights out at 11. But at the moment I’m struggling to get myself to turn the light out before midnight, and twice this week I’ve been awake after 2 am. It’s not ideal, as the structured bedtime allows me to get up at a reasonable time and get lots of stuff done.

Last night I meant to go to sleep at 11 but since I only went up to bed at 11.15 that plan was scuppered. So I read Castle fanfiction for a bit (shut up) and then tried to persuade myself to turn the light out, failed, and carried on reading. At about 12.15 I was almost ready to go to sleep, but suddenly got hit with a burst of inspiration for a short story.

I was conflicted. I did want to sleep, but would the story wait? I put a little note on my phone, but I didn’t think I could capture everything in my head from a one sentence note. After about two minutes staring at my phone and dithering, I got up, grabbed my writing notebook from downstairs, and took it to bed with me.

So I ended up writing 800 words, and deducting it from my ‘working’ time today so I could have a lie in. I’m pretty sure I can finish and polish it pretty quickly, so I need to be on the lookout for the right place to publish it when I’m done.

It’s kind of a murder mystery. I’m not sure who the killer is yet. I’m sure I’ll be surprised when I figure it out.

Sometimes I wonder if mystery writers always know who the killer is when they start, or do they let the characters speak for themselves in the first draft and add in the foreshadowing and things later?

In my novel, I’m not entirely sure what the bad guys are and how the good guys are going to win, or even if they are. I have my whole world laid out and my characters are real people in my head, but I just have no idea how it’s going to end. I have no idea if this is a normal creative process or not. Anyone have any thoughts?

Currently reading

For the Win by Cory Doctorow

A Dance with Dragons I: Dreams and Dust by George R R Martin

Terrier by Tamora Pierce

Harry Potter y la Piedra Filosofal by J K Rowling

Animorphs: The Invasion by K A Applegate

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Catacombs by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

Completed since 12/3/2014

Snuff by Terry Pratchett

Persuasion by Jane Austen

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

By the Pricking of My Thumbs by Agatha Christie

One Response to “Bitten by the Writing Bug”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Timetabled Writing | tapdancinglexicon - May 19, 2014

    […] week I wrote the second and final thousand words for A Grave Situation, the story I wrote about in ‘Bitten by the Writing Bug’. Nemmie is becoming better at producing more words as […]

Leave a Reply

