Running through tarmac

3 Jul

Time is speeding along while nothing much changes at Casa Lexicon. No job is forthcoming, and now I can add jobs I’m overqualified for to my list of jobs I’m being rejected for, having broadened my search.

Following the death of my sister-in-law in a traffic accident last year, the trial for the man who caused the accident was last week, and he was found not guilty. My fiance has really struggled with the run-up to the trial and the trial itself, and it’s impacted his mental health and job performance, which is Bad. He’s expecting a warning of some sort next week.

So, yes, basically everything continues to suck.

In nice things, however, the weather has been beautiful for most of the last few weeks, and Floydie is enjoying indulging his sundog side. I’ve been cutting myself off internet time a little bit earlier so I can read more.

I’ve discovered the Percy Jackson series thanks to Orphen’s recommendation (and lending me the books) and am hugely enjoying them so far. I’m also watching Star Trek TOS for the first time in the order it originally aired, and it’s awesome – I had no idea I’d enjoy it this much. The Naked Time, which is the fourth episode, is entirely too much fun.

The gang are hoping to start playing games again soon, and hopefully I’ll get a job one day!

This post is all over the place.

Currently reading

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen*

Bloodhound by Tamora Pierce

Pawn by Aimée Carter*

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter
‘The Operative was able to neutralise the immediate threat to the operation by feigning severe mental distress – which was easier than she’d thought, since she was feeling both distressed and mental.’

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan*
‘He looked like an evil male model, showing off what the fashionable college-age villain was wearing to Harvard this year.’

A Dance With Dragons Part 2: After the Feast by George R R Martin*

Completed since 12/3/2014 (24)

Snuff by Terry Pratchett*
Persuasion by Jane Austen*
The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett*
By the Pricking of My Thumbs by Agatha Christie*
Terrier by Tamora Pierce
Animorphs: The Invasion by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Visitor by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Encounter by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Message by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Predator by K A Applegate
For the Win by Cory Doctorow*
The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett*
Animorphs: The Capture by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Stranger by K A Applegate
Animorphs: The Alien by K A Applegate
Harry Potter y la Piedra Filosofal by J K Rowling
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
Avengers Prime: Volume One by Brian Michael Bendis and Alan Davis*
I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
A Dance with Dragons I: Dreams and Dust by George R R Martin*
Catacombs by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Ann Scarborough*
Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett
Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan*
“‘I am the Mother of Monsters, the terrible Echidna!’
I stared at her. All I could think to say was: ‘Isn’t that a kind of anteater?’
She howled, her reptilian face turning brown and green with rage, ‘I hate it when people say that! I hate Australia!'”

Justice League of America: The Lightning Saga by Brad Meltzer and Geoff Johns*

*First read

Leave a Reply

